PDA

View Full Version : Costume Savefile Renaming Tool


Archived Post
01-05-2010, 09:20 PM
Cancelled on account of Game Mismanagment.

If you're like me and make a lot of costumes, you know keeping them organized is pretty hard. Especially with bugs that don't let you save them with an actual name. :rolleyes:

So I wrote a small utility to help. It will let you browse through your saved costumes, and rename them, not only the Windows filename, but the name stored inside which displays in the Tailor. It will also let you change the Time/Date which is shown in the Tailor as well.

I'm highly allergic to documentation, so I will just say it should be pretty self explanatory, I did put in some help in the program itself though (not a lot though).

The only non-obvious thing is that you can use the PgUp/PgDn or Left/Right arrows to cycle through your costume files, once you open the first one. There is also some stuff about changing the Gamma and such, that is for display purposes only, and does not change the file.

It also has a setting to make a backup of the file being renamed, which is enabled by default.

And for simplicity sake, here's the usual locations of the Costume files:
C:\Program Files\Champions Online\Live\screenshots
or
C:\Program Files\Steam\SteamApps\common\champions online\Champions Online\Live\screenshots


Now for the legals. While I have made every effort to ensure this program works well and doesn't do any harm, The program is offered as is, and I accept no liability for any corruption of save games or your computer dying, or your wife leaving you, ect. Use at your own risk.

If you have suggestions or problems, please let me know here in this thread.

And before someone says it, No it doesnt' steal your password, or your key or anything else for that matter, nor have any virus, trojan, or other harmful garbage. I don't need that kinda of drama in my life. :cool:

Enjoy.


Changes in v1.1 (1-8-2010):

Added the ability to delete a costume from the utility.
Added several keyboard shortcuts. You can now use the following: Ctrl-D will delete the *costume*, Ctrl-R will bring up the rename dialog, Ctrl-I will bring up the Info dialog, Ctrl-minus will decrease gamma and Ctrl-plus will increase Gamma.
Fixed a couple possible error conditions that would cause the app to crash.
Fixed a display formatting error.

Archived Post
01-06-2010, 03:13 AM
Oh wow this is usefull. Did a pass with RIsing antivirus and didn't detect anything malicious. Haven't tried the programme itself yet though.

Archived Post
01-06-2010, 05:54 AM
I'm so trying this out, i have well over 50 costumes saved, and i really need a way to sort them out, without having to load everyone till i find the one i need.

Thanks! :D

Archived Post
01-06-2010, 07:13 AM
Cant wait to try it out. Thank you very much!

Archived Post
01-06-2010, 08:10 AM
I receive and error on trying to install. Tells me the install config is incorrect... :(

Archived Post
01-06-2010, 08:42 AM
I receive and error on trying to install. Tells me the install config is incorrect... :(


Yep, I made a goof. Seems it won't run on some systems if they don't have certain DLLs already installed. I'm at work right now, so I can't work on this, but tonight I'll recompile it to include the necessary DLLs. Then it will work on any system. Sorry for that! :o

Archived Post
01-06-2010, 11:06 AM
Wow, this is awesome. Took me a while to rename all of my costumes but omg, now I don't have to hunt through the entire list looking for the ones I want.

Let's get a sticky on this, it deserves it!

Archived Post
01-06-2010, 11:11 AM
How does this work? does it automacly do it I try to rename a costume file normally? or do I have to open the program and select the file?

Archived Post
01-06-2010, 11:13 AM
You select a file initially to rename, using a file dialog. from there you can browse through and rename or not as you like. It will remember the directory in the future for easier editing later. But under no circumstances does it do anything automatically.

Archived Post
01-06-2010, 11:21 AM
You select a file initially to rename, using a file dialog. from there you can browse through and rename or not as you like. It will remember the directory in the future for easier editing later. But under no circumstances does it do anything automatically.

Well, is there a way to program it too? I will absoulty not be able to remember That I have to use this to rename them......

Archived Post
01-06-2010, 02:18 PM
Boo I get the error as well.

Hurry up and fix it! :)

I can't wait to use this thing.

Archived Post
01-06-2010, 04:16 PM
Ok, I just posted the latest compile, it should work for those who don't have the DLLs now. Just re-download it. I can't test it myself, as my system has the DLLs already, so let me know if it still doesn't work.

Archived Post
01-06-2010, 04:18 PM
Well, is there a way to program it too? I will absoulty not be able to remember That I have to use this to rename them......

I'm afraid that it's only meant to be a simple utility. Adding a lot of options for automation of some sort would be a rather large and daunting task that I'm not prepared to take on. But thanks for your interest in any regard. :)

Archived Post
01-06-2010, 06:34 PM
Works like a charm! Thanks for the utility now I can switch and save with ease!

Archived Post
01-06-2010, 07:18 PM
Awesome, works great now!

Only thing I would change is adding keyboard shortcuts (I hate using the mouse for menus). Ctrl R for rename, Ctrl = for increase gamma, Ctrl - for decrease gamma, etc.

Great job though!

Archived Post
01-06-2010, 07:52 PM
Awesome, works great now!

Only thing I would change is adding keyboard shortcuts (I hate using the mouse for menus). Ctrl R for rename, Ctrl = for increase gamma, Ctrl - for decrease gamma, etc.

Great job though!

Yep, I was thinking the same, I'll see if I can find some time for that soon. :)

Archived Post
01-06-2010, 10:05 PM
Right on. Really can't complain though!

Archived Post
01-07-2010, 05:30 AM
Yep, I was thinking the same, I'll see if I can find some time for that soon. :)

Or possibly command prompt options like: Program.exe [costumefilename.jpg] [newname.jpg]

Archived Post
01-07-2010, 08:15 AM
Or possibly command prompt options like: Program.exe [costumefilename.jpg] [newname.jpg]

That is probably doable. I'll add it to my 'to do' list. Thanks. :)

Archived Post
01-07-2010, 08:22 AM
I'm afraid that it's only meant to be a simple utility. Adding a lot of options for automation of some sort would be a rather large and daunting task that I'm not prepared to take on. But thanks for your interest in any regard. :)

Yeah, this is amazing, but my short-term memory is about the same as a goldfish. :D

and as such, I doubt I'd remember to be able to use this, but I'll try.....

Archived Post
01-07-2010, 04:35 PM
I just used this and WOWOWOWOWOWOW it is totally awesome.

Archived Post
01-07-2010, 05:10 PM
Thanks works perfectly and saves me a lot of time. Sticky this or better yet adapt the code for the game itself.

Archived Post
01-08-2010, 11:58 AM
Thanks works perfectly and saves me a lot of time. Sticky this or better yet adapt the code for the game itself.

I say someone get a dev over here and have them inculde this or a way to rename without the seprate program for the ig 2010 patch....

Archived Post
01-08-2010, 12:11 PM
If I change the account name, will anything get messed up?

Archived Post
01-08-2010, 12:22 PM
No it won't Jabber. I've shortened all of my accnt names on the files from Khet_Maxwell to simply Khet and they work perfectly fine.

Archived Post
01-08-2010, 01:30 PM
No it won't Jabber. I've shortened all of my accnt names on the files from Khet_Maxwell to simply Khet and they work perfectly fine.

kay, thanks. now to begin the daunting task of renaming all 398 files. (I counted....)

Archived Post
01-08-2010, 04:03 PM
You, sir, are a genius of the highest calibre!

/sticky, /sticky, /sticky /sticky, /sticky!!!!!!!

Archived Post
01-08-2010, 04:35 PM
kay, thanks. now to begin the daunting task of renaming all 398 files. (I counted....)

:eek:

And I thought I was bad about making costumes!

Archived Post
01-08-2010, 06:26 PM
Ok, I updated the utility a bit. What's new is on the first post, as well as the new download. Enjoy. :)

Archived Post
01-08-2010, 06:47 PM
Oh wow, you improved your utility? Thanks! There should be a +rep button some where.

Archived Post
01-09-2010, 02:40 AM
THANK YOU!
THANK YOU!
THANK YOU!

Archived Post
01-09-2010, 04:48 AM
You Sooooooo rock!

Archived Post
01-09-2010, 08:34 AM
Thanks guys. :)

I did notice a small issue with the latest version, sometimes the Ctrl key could act 'sticky', so I went ahead and fixed that. If you run into that issue, just download it again.

Archived Post
01-09-2010, 05:45 PM
Very awesome stuff. Now I wanna go make more costumes just to fix the names cause I already fixed all mine :)

Archived Post
01-09-2010, 06:02 PM
If you're like me and make a lot of costumes, you know keeping them organized is pretty hard. Especially with bugs that don't let you save them with an actual name. :rolleyes:You can alternatively go into the screenshots folder and change the part of the character saved images that has the name.

For instance, it reads the date other stuff, whatever. It then has something like El_Fasto which is strikingly similar to the name of your hero correct? Well you can change that to anything you want, if you want to rename it, you can go right in there, take out the El_Fasto blurb, and put whatever other name you want in. It'll show up as the rename the next time you start up Champions Online and visit the tailor.

Archived Post
01-09-2010, 06:33 PM
@Might_Pencil,

Odd, I've tried that very thing and it didn't work before. I left everything the same except for the NoName where the costume name should be and it never showed up in the tailor, I even checked multiple times. But, the moment I tried it with the file renamer it worked perfectly fine.

Archived Post
01-10-2010, 11:46 AM
It actually won't work, because the name displayed in the tailor is read from an internal file variable. Thus the utility, it modifies the file name, and the internal variable and keeps them in sync.

They don't have to be in sync, but you can easily rename the external filename using windows. But to change the internal name (used in the tailor) you need something like this utility, or a hex editor (for the brave).

It is possible that worked at some time in the past, but it no longer does, which is the very reason I spent weeks writing this utility. Believe me, I wouldn't have bothered if it was not needed. :)

Archived Post
01-10-2010, 12:36 PM
It actually won't work, because the name displayed in the tailor is read from an internal file variable. Thus the utility, it modifies the file name, and the internal variable and keeps them in sync.

They don't have to be in sync, but you can easily rename the external filename using windows. But to change the internal name (used in the tailor) you need something like this utility, or a hex editor (for the brave).

It is possible that worked at some time in the past, but it no longer does, which is the very reason I spent weeks writing this utility. Believe me, I wouldn't have bothered if it was not needed. :)

Just wanted to say thank you again for this tool. I used the delete file feature last night to clean up some of the mutliple backups I have. This little gem works like a champ! Great work.

Archived Post
01-13-2010, 05:22 AM
I've tried this in win7 32 and it works just fine.:)

Archived Post
01-13-2010, 08:15 AM
I've tried this in win7 32 and it works just fine.:)

Good to know! It's built with a slightly older compiler (Visual C++ 2005) so I was hoping it would stand up to Win 7, but wasn't sure. I think VC++ 2010 is out now, if i'm not mistaken.

Archived Post
01-13-2010, 11:37 AM
I haven't had a chance to try this yet but I look forward do doing so - Thank you for your work and time on this - really appreciated! :)

Archived Post
01-13-2010, 01:46 PM
Good to know! It's built with a slightly older compiler (Visual C++ 2005) so I was hoping it would stand up to Win 7, but wasn't sure. I think VC++ 2010 is out now, if i'm not mistaken.

Works in Win 7 64 bit too.

Archived Post
01-15-2010, 12:23 PM
Works in Win 7 64 bit too.

Stop RP'ing! I hate you even more, Mr. Super Computer!




:D

Archived Post
01-19-2010, 09:22 AM
Awesome program!

I just wish I would have heard about it earlier, when I was actually playing regularly. You should post a link to this thread in your signature, I think a lot more people would be using it then.

I haven't used it yet, but I definitely will be if I start playing again regularly, and they haven't fixed it before the big magic super-duper update of OZ, comes out.

Archived Post
01-26-2010, 11:58 AM
Awesome tool. Should help with my recent NoName costume woes...

Archived Post
01-27-2010, 07:02 AM
Awesome tool. Should help with my recent NoName costume woes...

Yes, yes it does.

Thank you for creating this utility!

Archived Post
01-27-2010, 09:55 AM
Might be an odd question but how come all my saved costumes shows up in this utility but I can only find 3 in the screen shot folder?
(I have more than 3, for the record.. ;) )

Archived Post
01-27-2010, 11:45 AM
Unfortunately, I'm seeing some reports that the latest patch seriously broke costume loading. I'm wondering if that may be the cause. I've been away on business, so I've not even had a chance to try the new patch myself yet.

http://forums.champions-online.com/showthread.php?t=98674
http://forums.champions-online.com/showthread.php?t=97685

Archived Post
01-27-2010, 01:43 PM
Yeah I can verify my costume loading is borked. :(

After the patch 27/1/10 I go to the tailor, edit a costume, click load and if reverts to the default male model/spandex/blue and yellow colours.

This happens with costumes saved prior to the patch and ones saved tonight. Looking at the files themselves, the images appear ok, and the names/formating doesn;t have seemed to have changed.

Costume_MrKnuckles_NoName_CC_Comic_Page_Blue_31794 6599

I've bugged it in game.

We'll have to see when/if it gets resolved :(.

Mike.

Archived Post
01-27-2010, 02:46 PM
From another thread -
Yep, this is on the list. The workaround is to set body and Head screens to Custom *before* loading your savefile. Then nothing will be modified. (unless it has C-Store items, in which case the other bug will set those to other items :rolleyes: )

EDIT: This workaround doesn't seem to work. The Huge_beast stance is missing from the tailor and all my costumes that use it are affected by the "default bug"

Archived Post
01-27-2010, 11:09 PM
From another thread -


EDIT: This workaround doesn't seem to work. The Huge_beast stance is missing from the tailor and all my costumes that use it are affected by the "default bug"

Yes that was for an old issue, this is a new issue.


I think I know what is going on. Taking it to this thread:

http://forums.champions-online.com/showthread.php?p=1451885

It has to do with the save files containing costume parts not being unlocked on the character you are loading the costume on.

Archived Post
01-30-2010, 11:06 PM
I have a new knotty problem.

If i run the costume editor as normal I get a full list of all my saved costumes but if I try to do any editing (deleting/renaming) I get a access denied warning/error from windows.
Now that might have something to do with me having to run CO as admin after the Fridays patch to get the launcher to patch.
But here is the weird thing, when I run the editor as admin (the obvious solution) it now works (no access warning) but now only a fraction of my saved costumes appear.
It is however the same fraction that appear in my screenshot folder when I open it physically. I've never been able to see all my saved costumes in the screenshot folder but for some reason they all still do appear in game and before this problem also in the editor.



EDIT: Now I seem to be able to rename costumes (still can't delete them). Don't know why because the only thing I did was leave the editor on while writing this post.

So until anyone says anything different I'll just assume that this forum has an inbuilt trouble shooting AI that rewrite any bug you complain about on the forums just to make you look silly.


EDIT2: I revoke my earlier edit since it refuse access to the some costumes but not all. I am flummoxed.

Archived Post
01-31-2010, 09:08 AM
It sounds like you've run into a file permissions problem. Likely some files were created while not in admin mode, and some were, and therefore they have different "owners". You can only fully access the files the account running owns. And believe it or not, running out of admin and in admin mode, is considered two different people according to Windows' account management system.

I'm afraid it's a Windows problem and not much I can do to help you.

Archived Post
03-25-2010, 04:28 AM
Is there any alternative to this now that it's gone?

Archived Post
03-25-2010, 04:52 AM
Why? I though the costume name bug was fixed.....