PDA

View Full Version : Community Guide for Melee Characters in PvP

Archived Post
08-31-2009, 10:15 AM
There's plenty of threads around here debating various angles to the concept of having a melee character in PvP. I thought it would be a good idea to create a thread where the overall tone would stay positive and helpful to people who want to excel as a melee character. Here are some things I'd like for people to keep in mind.

1. It IS possible to be a factor in PvP using a Melee character.
2. Ranged players will more than likely always have it easier, but defeating them will be that much more rewarding.
3. While some powers need to get altered, look within yourself for change before exclaiming things need to be nerfed.

Alright. With those 3 things in mind, my experience in PvP has been to level 20, and briefly as a level 40. I'm by no means an expert, but here are my findings.

-Specialize. Think hard about your build before creating it. Have a game plan on how you want to attack and how you want to defend. It may even take you a few rerolls or alts to try different powers out in the field before you find that sweet spot of what works for you. To really excel at melee, I feel that you need to specialize and play to your strengths rather than try to have an answer for every situation. I'm not saying that you shouldn't try to be well rounded, but know that to maximize your efforts you really should come up with a small number of strategies and conquer that way.