PDA

View Full Version : Game getting progressively laggier since the patch that introduced the Anniversary Ev


Archived Post
09-10-2011, 07:12 PM
Ever since the launch of the Anniversary Event the game has been growing laggier and laggier for me, getting progressively worse as time has gone by.

First it would rubberband me once in a while, bouncing my Champion back and forth as I got around. This only happened once a minute. But then it started happening more frequently and now it is so bad that the game stops responding ever few seconds!

I've tried switching Proxy with the launcher and while I can see a difference in Ping times between the different Proxies with /netgraph 1 in-game this lag every few second persist regardless of which one I use. When the game isn't lagging I can see the Ping bounce back and forth with a variable of around 50; and when the game lags it "locks" on the current value the Ping is displaying the very second the lag hits.

I've checked my connectivity and everything seems fine on my side, and after all I did play the game flawlessly up until the Anniversary Event.

Please assist!

Archived Post
09-11-2011, 06:47 AM
Do people actually get any help here? This entire forum is full oh threads with 0 replies...

Archived Post
09-11-2011, 09:23 AM
Same for me. Worked fine over the summer. But the last couple of days, week its ...

As if some dev got back from vacation and broke everything.

Archived Post
09-11-2011, 02:57 PM
Hello?

Tech support guys?

Where are you?

Archived Post
09-11-2011, 04:48 PM
Ever since the launch of the Anniversary Event the game has been growing laggier and laggier for me, getting progressively worse as time has gone by.

First it would rubberband me once in a while, bouncing my Champion back and forth as I got around. This only happened once a minute. But then it started happening more frequently and now it is so bad that the game stops responding ever few seconds!

I've tried switching Proxy with the launcher and while I can see a difference in Ping times between the different Proxies with /netgraph 1 in-game this lag every few second persist regardless of which one I use. When the game isn't lagging I can see the Ping bounce back and forth with a variable of around 50; and when the game lags it "locks" on the current value the Ping is displaying the very second the lag hits.

I've checked my connectivity and everything seems fine on my side, and after all I did play the game flawlessly up until the Anniversary Event.

Please assist!

Same here...I had to dumb down my graphics to compensate and didn't have to before.

Archived Post
09-12-2011, 02:59 AM
It is not graphical lag.

It is latency-based lag.

Beating on enemies who take no damage, getting beaten up by enemies without the ability to deal damage back, rubberbanding and all that sort of stuff.

Archived Post
09-12-2011, 03:17 AM
Have you tried swapping to a different proxy?

On the launcher, go to Options, then choose a different proxy server. EU, US, or no proxy. It doesn't always help, but it's the first thing I always try when I have latency problems and usually one of them is better than the others.

Good luck :)

Archived Post
09-12-2011, 03:56 AM
First thing I tried.

The only difference between them is a very slight difference in ping(using /netgraph 1); the horrible lag remains.

Archived Post
09-12-2011, 04:02 AM
I'm from germany and i don't have encountered any lag in the last week, so i think its more a problem of your ISP
or the route from your home to the servers.

Maybe you should do a traceroute to the servers, to see if there is bad packet-loss anywhere. Also rebooting
your router from time to time can sometimes help.

Archived Post
09-12-2011, 04:38 AM
I've pretty much exhausted all my options in my home.

And why would so many other people also be affected, starting from the same point in time (the Anniversary Event patch)?

Nothing has changed here at home, and I was playing the game fine until that god damn event.

Archived Post
09-12-2011, 05:45 AM
I've pretty much exhausted all my options in my home.

And why would so many other people also be affected, starting from the same point in time (the Anniversary Event patch)?

Nothing has changed here at home, and I was playing the game fine until that god damn event.

Maybe all the others who are affected should post from where they are and what Provider they use
so that we can maybe see some similarities.

Btw.: i don't think that 3 people are really "many" ;)

Archived Post
09-12-2011, 06:16 AM
I posted some tips in another thread.
Check and see if anything here is usefull ----> http://forums.champions-online.com/showthread.php?t=136315&page=4

Archived Post
09-12-2011, 07:51 AM
Another somewhat funny thing is that the chat doesn't lag at all; I can be stuck beating an enemy and he doesn't lose any health or rubberband into infinity whilst still chatting perfectly fine.

Archived Post
09-12-2011, 09:22 AM
Another somewhat funny thing is that the chat doesn't lag at all; I can be stuck beating an enemy and he doesn't lose any health or rubberband into infinity whilst still chatting perfectly fine.

Why is that funny?
It's not related.

Archived Post
09-12-2011, 09:38 AM
Latency doesn't have that much effect on chat, and normally it doesn't have anything to do with the servers at all, though in theory increased user counts (from anniversary and then blood moon) could affect the servers (I haven't noticed any issues, so I doubt it).

Archived Post
09-12-2011, 09:40 AM
O rly?

If it truly was a fault on my end, wouldn't the chat server lag too?

Archived Post
09-12-2011, 09:50 AM
O rly?

If it truly was a fault on my end, wouldn't the chat server lag too?

Nope.
The ammount of data in chat isn't enough to take any noticeble bandwith.
Chat clients hardly need any bandwith at all.
And I think the chat might be on another server.
Besides, there is no way for you to know if chat is lagging or not unless you are sitting next to the person you are chatting with.

Archived Post
09-12-2011, 10:03 AM
For what it's worth, I keep seeing people complain about this but have had zero problems myself...

Archived Post
09-12-2011, 10:34 AM
If it truly was a fault on my end, wouldn't the chat server lag too?
Yeah, but 1s lag, which is crippling in a game, is barely noticeable in a chat. Also, the lag might be less, since it's a fairly small amount of data coming from a different server.

Archived Post
09-12-2011, 10:46 AM
Yeah, but 1s lag, which is crippling in a game, is barely noticeable in a chat. Also, the lag might be less, since it's a fairly small amount of data coming from a different server.

For what it's worth, my chat lags alot as well, even when the "server not responding" message is there (I know the message is just a formality but the chat does lag)

Archived Post
09-12-2011, 04:27 PM
Now I'm starting to get ****ed off. Is there no official technical support at all? Is this forum entirely user-to-user based? I even reinstalled/repatched the entire game to no avail.

I managed to "play" with horrible rubberbanding and enemies who take no damage for about 5 minutes until I get that f*cking "Disconnected from server" message.

:mad:

Archived Post
09-12-2011, 06:00 PM
Holy crap, do something about this already.

Archived Post
09-12-2011, 11:15 PM
This forum is pretty much entirely users helping users. Have you tried Trace Route and NetTest, though? They often reveal problems between a player with problem and Cryptic. Sometimes at specific junctures that are under neither your nor Cryptic's control. =\

Archived Post
09-13-2011, 02:38 AM
Holy crap, do something about this already.

Are you in US or Europe?
What proxy are you using?

Archived Post
09-13-2011, 04:41 AM
Are you in US or Europe?
What proxy are you using?

I've already stated that I've tried every possible proxy to no avail...

Archived Post
09-13-2011, 06:22 AM
I've already stated that I've tried every possible proxy to no avail...

Sorry, I've been back and forth on multiple threads rearding this topic.

If you also tried the things I've suggested earlier I'm all out of ideas.
I know the euro proxy has a horrible connection and switching to US proxy solved all of my problems.

There is problably nothing wrong with the server since only a few people have lag and server not responding issues.

What I would like to know is what all you people with these issues have in common besides wanting to play CO without lag.


Here are some basic stuff to get started:

- Router or modem or both?
- If router, - open, moderate or strict NAT?
- DSL, ADSL or fibre optics?
- Promised bandwith
- Actual bandwith
- What antivirus software is running on your comp?
- What firewall are you using
- Living in US, Europe or Asia
- What OS are you using?
- 32 bit or 64 bit OS?

Archived Post
09-13-2011, 06:28 AM
What he have in common is:

When the problem started.

Seriously, this looks like it is a problem on Cryptics side, no ours. After all, we did play the game flawlessly up until this accursed Anniversary Event!

Archived Post
09-13-2011, 07:29 AM
What he have in common is:

When the problem started.

Seriously, this looks like it is a problem on Cryptics side, no ours. After all, we did play the game flawlessly up until this accursed Anniversary Event!

Did you play the game before August 2011?

Archived Post
09-13-2011, 08:20 AM
Considering my join date, that'd be pretty much impossible.

Archived Post
09-13-2011, 08:36 AM
Considering my join date, that'd be pretty much impossible.

So why do you state that the problem started with the Anniversary Event?
And why do you say "we did play the game flawlessly up until this accursed Anniversary Event! "?
I am part of "we", and I play the game flawlessly.
I did so before the event, during the event and I'm still doing it after the event.


You might want to check this out http://forums.champions-online.com/showthread.php?t=74501

Archived Post
09-13-2011, 10:27 AM
Running this and posting the results may help identify things. Also knowing your approximate location (IE: West Coast USA, East Coast USA, Canada, England, Germany, etc.).

http://files.champions-online.com/nettest.exe


Also, in Start>Run, type cmd to bring up the command prompt. Type:
tracert patchserver.crypticstudios.com

Post the results, but remove the first three or so IP addresses, as they give away your location and personal IP.

Archived Post
09-13-2011, 12:07 PM
Running this and posting the results may help identify things. Also knowing your approximate location (IE: West Coast USA, East Coast USA, Canada, England, Germany, etc.).

http://files.champions-online.com/nettest.exe


Also, in Start>Run, type cmd to bring up the command prompt. Type:
tracert patchserver.crypticstudios.com

Post the results, but remove the first three or so IP addresses, as they give away your location and personal IP.

to me the game isn't playable right now ...

Logs as requested:

Location: Germany

Nettest:
C:\>nettest.exe
unable to allocate performance buffer
contacting nettest server..
Local IP: 77.178.XXX.XXX
Ping: 214.3 msec
Port: 80: timed out
Port: 80: 191 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 500
Port: 443: 58 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 500
Port: 443: 264 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 500
Port: 7255: 269 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 500
Port: 7255: 276 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 500
Port: 7003: timed out
Port: 7003: 80 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 500
Port: 7202: 428 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 500
Port: 7202: 227 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 500
Port: 7499: 304 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 500
Port: 7499: 305 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 500
Port: 80: 102 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 500
Idle NIC bandwidth Send: 0 KB/sec Recv: 0 KB/sec
hit return to exit

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

tracert patchserver.crypticstudios.com
Routenverfolgung zu patchserver.crypticstudios.com [208.95.185.41] über maximal
30 Abschnitte:

1 1 ms 3 ms 1 ms fritz.box [192.168.178.1]
2 15 ms 15 ms 14 ms rdsl-dtmd-de02.nw.mediaways.net [213.20.58.226]

3 18 ms 22 ms 15 ms xmwc-dtmd-de01-chan-19.nw.mediaways.net [195.71.
238.170]
4 25 ms 24 ms 25 ms rmwc-dtmd-de01-gigaet-0-0-0.nw.mediaways.net [62
.53.134.79]
5 27 ms 28 ms 28 ms rmwc-dsdf-de01-chan-1-0.nw.mediaways.net [62.53.
190.97]
6 49 ms 48 ms 66 ms Xe7-0-3-0-grtdusix1.red.telefonica-wholesale.net
.7.16.84.in-addr.arpa [84.16.7.229]
7 65 ms 62 ms 63 ms Xe1-0-0-0-grtlontl1.red.telefonica-wholesale.net
.120.142.94.in-addr.arpa [94.142.120.238]
8 61 ms 59 ms 59 ms 195.50.90.165
9 60 ms 59 ms 59 ms ae-1-51.edge4.London1.Level3.net [4.69.139.74]
10 136 ms 137 ms 137 ms Tinet-level3-2x10G.London.Level3.net [4.68.110.1
58]
11 234 ms 216 ms 226 ms xe-1-2-0.bos11.ip4.tinet.net [89.149.183.13]
12 212 ms 215 ms 216 ms internap-gw.ip4.tinet.net [77.67.77.54]
13 230 ms 229 ms 231 ms border11.te8-1-bbnet2.bsn.pnap.net [63.251.128.1
04]
14 212 ms 221 ms 212 ms cryptic-3.border11.bsn.pnap.net [216.52.61.78]
15 222 ms 230 ms 220 ms 208.95.185.41

Ablaufverfolgung beendet.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

tracert google.com

Routenverfolgung zu google.com [74.125.39.105] über maximal 30 Abschnitte:

1 1 ms 3 ms 1 ms fritz.box [192.168.178.1]
2 18 ms 24 ms 18 ms rdsl-dtmd-de02.nw.mediaways.net [213.20.58.226]

3 18 ms 18 ms 18 ms xmwc-dtmd-de01-chan-19.nw.mediaways.net [195.71.
238.170]
4 27 ms 21 ms 24 ms rmwc-dtmd-de01-gigaet-0-0-0.nw.mediaways.net [62
.53.134.79]
5 29 ms 29 ms 28 ms rmwc-frnk-de01-chan-3-0.nw.mediaways.net [195.71
.254.145]
6 40 ms 43 ms 41 ms 72.14.198.209
7 51 ms 41 ms 40 ms 209.85.241.144
8 41 ms 42 ms 41 ms 72.14.236.20
9 42 ms 55 ms 44 ms 209.85.254.112
10 * 43 ms * 209.85.254.126
11 41 ms 43 ms 41 ms fx-in-f105.1e100.net [74.125.39.105]

Archived Post
09-13-2011, 12:21 PM
For the Nettest, columns 1 and 3 should be around 500 or so, and column 2 around 20. For you, Column 2 and 3 are both 0 across the board, and some ports are even timing out. That's not good. Do you have TeamViewer? That can cause problems, among other things. Otherwise, it could be a port forwarding issue, or maybe even filtering from your IP. Your tracert to the game server shows a particular spike when it hits one of the London nodes.

Unfortunately, net tech isn't my specialty, so hopefully one of the more net-savvy people will catch wind of this. It's also good to see if multiple people going through the same nodes are having problems with lag to identify trouble spots.

Archived Post
09-13-2011, 01:00 PM
Well, yes teamviewer was running in background.
nettest after ending it:

C:\>nettest.exe
unable to allocate performance buffer
contacting nettest server..
Local IP: 77.178.XXX.XXX
Ping: 231.9 msec
Port: 80: 362 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 500
Port: 80: 358 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 500
Port: 443: 6 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 500
Port: 443: 117 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 500
Port: 7255: 286 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 500
Port: 7255: 9 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 500
Port: 7003: 260 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 500
Port: 7003: 170 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 500
Port: 7202: 296 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 500
Port: 7202: 62 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 500
Port: 7499: 289 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 500
Port: 7499: 19 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 500
Port: 80: 128 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 500
Idle NIC bandwidth Send: 0 KB/sec Recv: 0 KB/sec
hit return to exit


well i took a break of about 18 days.
before that time the game was running 100% nice and smoothly, the system and the network wasn't changed while that at all.
all other "services" and games are still running lagfree.
internet speedtest capping right now between 1300 and 1860 KB/sec.
so i would say its no issue on my network side.

ending TeamViewer didn't fix the ingame lags, even if the timeouts are gone now.


--------------------

fresh tracert showing still same:
4 24 ms 31 ms 24 ms rmwc-dtmd-de01-gigaet-0-0-0.nw.mediaways.net [62
.53.134.79]
5 25 ms 26 ms 25 ms rmwc-dsdf-de01-xe-1-1-0-0.nw.mediaways.net [195.
71.242.209]
6 32 ms 132 ms 68 ms Xe7-0-3-0-grtdusix1.red.telefonica-wholesale.net
.7.16.84.in-addr.arpa [84.16.7.229]
7 44 ms 74 ms 60 ms Xe1-0-0-0-grtlontl1.red.telefonica-wholesale.net
.120.142.94.in-addr.arpa [94.142.120.238]
8 44 ms 44 ms 43 ms 195.50.90.165
9 50 ms 50 ms 72 ms ae-1-51.edge4.London1.Level3.net [4.69.139.74]
10 150 ms 200 ms 168 ms Tinet-level3-2x10G.London.Level3.net [4.68.110.1
58]
11 221 ms 295 ms 218 ms xe-1-2-0.bos11.ip4.tinet.net [89.149.183.13]
12 226 ms 239 ms 240 ms internap-gw.ip4.tinet.net [77.67.77.54]
13 228 ms 235 ms 220 ms border11.te8-1-bbnet2.bsn.pnap.net [63.251.128.1
04]
14 228 ms 217 ms 213 ms cryptic-3.border11.bsn.pnap.net [216.52.61.78]
15 228 ms 227 ms 217 ms 208.95.185.41

Archived Post
09-13-2011, 05:22 PM
ending TeamViewer didn't fix the ingame lags, even if the timeouts are gone now.


--------------------



Since you are located in Germany I'm guessing you use the European proxy.
Have you tried to switch to the US proxy?
It's a fix that seem to help alot of european players.
And it also helps you avoid lag spikes in your region.

Archived Post
09-14-2011, 02:14 AM
Running this and posting the results may help identify things. Also knowing your approximate location (IE: West Coast USA, East Coast USA, Canada, England, Germany, etc.).

http://files.champions-online.com/nettest.exe

How do I get the results from that thing? It just closes down when finished?

Archived Post
09-14-2011, 04:19 AM
run the nettest, set to run as admin if using win7 or vista
right click on the nettest window title border select edit then mark. left click and drag to highlight the test . hit enter to copy into windows clipboard.
you can then paste it in a post.

Archived Post
09-14-2011, 11:00 AM
i used
get nettest exe to c:\
run -> cmd -> type "cd \" -> "nettest.exe"
then after its done it will remain open

...

how to change the proxy?

Archived Post
09-14-2011, 11:31 AM
i used
get nettest exe to c:\
run -> cmd -> type "cd \" -> "nettest.exe"
then after its done it will remain open

...

how to change the proxy?

In the launcher before you log in, go to options.
You can change it from there.

Archived Post
09-15-2011, 01:11 PM
In the launcher before you log in, go to options.
You can change it from there.

Experiencing same lag spikes / character bounces back and forth / npc taking no damage etc. as described already, here are my net-test results.

contacting nettest server..
Local IP: xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx
Ping: 115.4 msec
Port: 80: 79 KB/sec 3 KB/sec 84 KB/sec 500
Port: 80: 85 KB/sec 4 KB/sec 90 KB/sec 500
Port: 443: 87 KB/sec 4 KB/sec 92 KB/sec 500
Port: 443: 78 KB/sec 3 KB/sec 83 KB/sec 500
Port: 7255: 41 KB/sec 2 KB/sec 44 KB/sec 500
Port: 7255: 79 KB/sec 7 KB/sec 87 KB/sec 500
Port: 7003: 59 KB/sec 3 KB/sec 62 KB/sec 500
Port: 7003: 86 KB/sec 4 KB/sec 91 KB/sec 500
Port: 7202: 81 KB/sec 3 KB/sec 86 KB/sec 500
Port: 7202: 76 KB/sec 3 KB/sec 81 KB/sec 500
Port: 7499: 44 KB/sec 2 KB/sec 47 KB/sec 500
Port: 7499: timed out
Port: 80: 63 KB/sec 3 KB/sec 67 KB/sec 500
Idle NIC bandwidth Send: 0 KB/sec Recv: 0 KB/sec

Changes proxy from default (none or something like it) to EU then to US. Doesn't improved anything. Problems appears after several minutes usually. Strange enough no lag in chat as far I noticed.